Create & rename worksets

This tutorial will present how to create and rename the default worksets using Dynamo. Note that before you create worksets you will need to enable worksharing. To do this in Revit 2016 or earlier, it was possible to click on the ‘Worksets’ button in the bottom ribbon or alternatively, go to Collaborate > Manage Collaboration > Worksets.

 

However, for whatever reason, in Revit 2017 it is no longer possible to activate worksharing via the Workset button. It is only possible via the Collaborate > Manage Collaboration > Worksets.

If you are using Revit 2017, you will be asked how you want to collaborate: Collaborate within your network; or, Collaborate using the cloud

Once worksharing has been enabled, Revit will create default worksets and assigns elements and settings to these worksets. The default worksets are as follows:

 

  • ‘Shared Levels and Grids’ – Contains all existing levels, grids and reference planes. Note that if you choose to collaborate using the cloud via BIM360, the workset will be named ‘Shared Views, Levels and Grids’.
  • ‘Workset1’ – Contains all existing model elements in the project. Once created, this workset can be renamed but it cannot be deleted.

 

Worksharing window using Collaborate within your network

 

Worksharing window using Collaborate using the cloud

 

If you have an office naming standard for worksets, we can automate the creation of them. For example:

  • 00_FACADE
  • 10_STRUCTURE
  • 20_VERTICAL CIRCULATION
  • 30_INTERIOR
  • 40_FF&E
  • 50_SITE
  • 60_MASSING
  • 99_LEVELS & GRIDS
  • Etc.

 

The Dynamo script utilises the BVN Package node ‘Workset.CreateAndRenameDefault’ to add the new worksets and rename the existing default worksets.

 

At BVN we have decided to do something a little tricky with the default worksets. Since ‘Workset1′ cannot be deleted, we figured it was best to rename this workset to something which we would always have in every project. That is, it would never be deleted. We concluded that the most logical workset was actually ’99_LEVELS & GRIDS’. Therefore, as shown in the screenshot, the ‘Shared levels and grids’ is renamed to ’60_MASSING’ (or whatever will be your most dominate workset) and ‘Workset1′ is renamed to ’99_LEVELS & GRIDS’. If you don’t want to follow this protocol, simply reverse the inputs. Once the script has run you should see something like this in the workset window.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: